Skip to main content

Over $273,000 Local Scholarships Awarded

Posted on Thursday, May 11, 2023 in Articles

The W.D. and Shirley Schafer-Ray Educational Trust awarded over $273,000 to 45 local students for the 2023-2024 academic year. Individual scholarships ranged from $2,500 to $12,000.

The Trust awards scholarships to area students attending an accredited college or university next school year with a portion devoted to those attending Southwestern Community College. All recipients reside in Adair, Adams, Taylor, and Union counties.

The W.D. and Shirley Schafer-Ray Educational Trust is an annual scholarship opportunity that provides significant opportunities for local students pursuing all levels of advanced education.

Iowa State Savings Bank serves as trustee for the W.D. and Shirley Schafer-Ray Educational Trust and oversees the scholarship process.

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients:

Mica Andreasen, Dylan Anson, Keegan Bailey, Marcey Bailey, Ally Birt, Logan Bucher, Jake Cox, Rylie Driskell, Briley Dunning, Jaycee Fitzgerald, Haylee Gillam, Elizabeth Hadley, Kaitlynn Hamilton, Aubrey Hansen, Carter Henderson, Owen Henderson, Lindsey Jennett, Allyson Johnson, Noah Johnson, Anjali Kathikar, Madalyn Kinsella, Madison Long, Emmet Long, Riley Long, Layla Lopez, Tyler Loudon, Makenzi Martwick, Riley McCall, Josie Miller, Trayce Miller, Kayla Mitchell, Jake Oathoudt Emma Pantini, Emma Parris, Caylee Pettit, Draven Pierce, Ella Powers, Ashley Rankin, Jacob Roberts, Hailee Schultz, Sydney Strunk, Patrick Varner, and Christopher Wilson

Follow the W.D. and Shirley Schafer-Ray Educational Trust Facebook page for award announcements and scholarship opportunities.

Back to Top